



Press Release: MLAs and MPs of Odisha with Declared Criminal Cases against themselves

Date: 13th Dec, 2017

Bhubaneshwar: The Supreme Court, on 1st November, had pointed out the increasing criminalization in politics while directing the Centre to come up with a scheme to set-up special fast-track courts that would deal exclusively with the criminal cases pending against Legislators and Parliamentarians.

Based on the information available with **Odisha Election Watch** on sitting MLAs of **the Odisha Assembly**, it is seen that out of **147 MLAs** whose affidavits were analysed by ADR, **52 MLAs** or **35%** of the total MLAs had declared **pending criminal cases** against themselves at the time of contesting in elections held in 2014. Out of these, **41** had declared **serious criminal cases** and form or **28%** of the total number of sitting MLAs. Among the political parties, **BJD has the maximum number of** MLAs with criminal cases (32) followed by **INC, with 9 MLAs** and **BJP with 8 MLAs**.

Party Name	Total number of MLAs analyzed	MLAs with declared Criminal Cases	% of MLAs with declared criminal cases	MLAs with serious declared criminal cases	% of MLAs with serious declared criminal cases
BJD	117	32	27 %	23	20 %
INC	16	9	56 %	8	50 %
ВЈР	10	8	80 %	7	70 %
IND	2	2	100 %	2	100 %
SAMATA KRANTI DAL	1	1	100 %	1	100 %
Others	1	0	0%	0	0%
Total	147	52	35%	41	28%

The status of Lok Sabha MPs from Odisha with declared criminal cases against themselves was also analysed. Out of 21 MPs from Odisha whose affidavits were analysed by ADR, 3 (14% of total MPs from Odisha) have declared cases against themselves. But it is to be noted that one of the Lok Sabha MP from BJD has declared serious criminal cases pending which forms 5% of the total Lok Sabha MPS from Odisha. 2 MPs from BJD and 1 MP from BJP have declared criminal cases against themselves.

Party Name	Total number of winners analyzed	winners with declared Criminal Cases	% of winners with declared criminal cases	winners with serious declared criminal cases	% of winners with serious declared criminal cases
BJD	20	2	10.0 %	1	5.0 %
ВЈР	1	1	100.0 %		0.0 %
Others	0	=	-	-	-
Total	21	3	14.3%	1	4.8%

The Upper House of the Parliament or the Rajya Sabha too is not immune from MPs from Odisha with declared criminal cases. Out of 10 Rajya Sabha MPs from Odisha whose affidavits were analysed by ADR, 2 have declared criminal cases. Thus, 20% of the total Rajya Sabha MPs from Odisha have declared criminal cases against themselves. It is to be noted that none has declared any serious criminal cases pending against themselves.

Party Name	Total number of MPs analyzed	MPs with declared Criminal Cases	% of MPs with declared criminal cases	MPs with serious declared criminal cases	% of MPs with serious declared criminal cases
BJD	8	1	13%	0	0%
INC	1	1	100%	0	0%
IND	1	0	0%	0	0%
Total	10	2	20%	0	0%





It is to be noted here that almost all the major political parties have winners with declared criminal cases.

Criminalisation of politics continues to remain a major concern in India as several sitting MPs and MLAs facing charges of corruption and serious offences such as murder, rape and kidnapping continue to be lawmakers. It is thus hoped that the Centre follows through with the proposed scheme of setting up 12 special courts for a year to fast-track criminal cases against sitting Legislators and Parliamentarians.

Contact

Odisha Election Watch

Ranjan Kumar Mohanty State Coordinator, Odisha

+91-0674 2382175

+91-0674 2352278

+91-94370-13723

pecuc@hotmail.com, odishaelectionwatch@gmail.com

Association for Democratic Reforms

Media and Journalist	Maj. Gen. Anil Verma (Retd.)	Prof Jagdeep Chhokar	Prof Trilochan Sastry
Helpline	Head	IIM Ahmedabad (Retd.)	IIM Bangalore
	National Election Watch,	Founder Member,	Founder Member,
+91 80103 94248	Association for Democratic	National Election Watch,	National Election Watch,
Email: adr@adrindia.org	Reforms	Association for Democratic	Association for Democratic Reforms
		Reforms	
	011 4165 4200,		+91 94483 53285
	+91 88264 79910	+91 99996 20944	trilochans@iimb.ernet.in
	adr@adrIndia.org,	jchhokar@gmail.com	
	anilverma@adrindia.org		